Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Should students always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively? Confucian virtue teaches that learning passively is an appropriate manner in which students should show their loyalty to great teachers. However, I agree with the speaker. Progress of humanity and science has been made due to the contributions of those who dared to question about the existing authority and the prevailing ideas. Leading voices came from those who refused to accept all that they are taught with blind credulity in all areas of human endeavor. Thus, students’ skeptical minds should be valued in education.

In tradition constant questions to what they are taught was looked as a challenge to the teacher’s authority. In addition, such behaviors are not tolerated in some school since it may deter other students from effective and fast learning. For these reasons in the public education setting where a number of students are learning together casting questions on what students are taught has been considered as an improper conduct. In fact, in many classes students who show great skills in memorizing all the contents they learned tend to receive the highest grade.

Nevertheless, skepticism has been the propelling power for discoveries and innovation. For example, “Revolutions on the Celetrial Bodies” was able to be published by the Nicolas Copernicus could not have discovered the heliocentric theory. In order to raise many other students to contribute to the progress of science, we should encourage students bring skepticism to the class.

Furthermore, social reform toward the progress of humanity was able to be achieved due to those who dared to disobey what they are taught. For instance, Martin Luther King Jr’s rejection of the Segregation Laws that were accepted as a sort of fair norm in the 1950s in the American society paves the way to accomplishing equal civil rights to the colored. By questioning the fairness and relevance of contemporary laws, he led the Civil Rights Movement that resulted in the abolition of Segrgation Laws. Thus, students should be encouraged to think critically about the assumptions underlying the status quo; otherwise, more oppression and prejudice would prevail in our society rather than blindly accept the existing values that are imposed through education.

Once Wilson Miznor said “I repsect faith but doubt is what gets you and education.:. In order to educate students to be another innovator or reformer, they should be encouraged to ask questions to teachers instead of blindly accepting whatever they are learning. For a beter tomorrow what we have to do is to challenge the established ideas pervasive norms.