There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to above passage, the author insists that slow life in rural area is better than busy life in urban area for healthier life with several grounds. At first glance, these argument seems to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that there are many unsubstantiated speculations that hinder the author from developing logical consequence.

To begin with, mentioning number of days of sick leave, the author presumes days of sick leave could be a measure of health of residents. The author implies that people should move to rural area where residents use fewer days of sick leave which means more lively. However, this assumption is fallacious for several exceptions. This presumption relies on that there is no lie for using sick leave. However, many people use sick leave for their privacy plan even though they are not sick. As another reason, criterion of using day off could be different between both people. For example, people in pastoral region are inclined to consider small disease not serious, but people in big cities can regard even small cold as a big problem. So, we should take account of criterion when they will use their criterion.

Secondly, the author assumes that proportion of doctor is a standard of longevity from the passage citing proportion of doctor. The speaker connotes that people should move to Leeville which has lower ratio of doctor. Though, this presumption is fallacy. Percentage of doctor can tell their health condition but, there are a few doctors because of inferior terms of working. most People pursuing pleasure from many accommodations like theater, department stores, or metros are not willing to spend their time in pastoral region. And, many people feel solitude in where few residents exists nearby.

Furthermore, it is possible to guess that supposition that the average age is a yardstick of healthier life underlies the reference of the average age. Nevertheless, this premise seems far-fetched. Elder people can move into Leeville because of their penchant of pastoral life. Also, juveniles go to big cities for versatile reasons like their dreams or amenity. These tendency of people will result changing the average age in both areas that lead result mentioned in this paragraph.

To sum up, the author may not necessarily be wrong to assert that if shifting from hectic life to relaxed life. But, the speaker's assertion rests on suspicious assumption which needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigation should clarify meaning of evidences of sick leave, proportion of doctor, and the average of age.