Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the above memo, the author insists increasing demand for heating oil in the particular region with the support of several grounds. At first glance, this argument seems to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that the author failed to render strong proof for the argument. Accordingly, to make a proper judgment, we need to fling a question which can clearly elucidate the validity of insistence.

To begin with, mentioning that most residents have conventionally utilized oil for heating in this region, the memo presumes that they will consistently use oil as their main resources for heating after five years. But today, there are many kinds of efficient heating techniques rather than the oil system. So, Will the residents use oil-heating system for 5 years? Many possibilities like switching their system from the oil system to electronic or carrying heat from recent power plant can undermine the memos assertion. Then, this argument will be invalid. However, people are inclined to retain their own system for the reasons why people aren’t pecunious for changing or people are accustomed to using the oil system. Then, the memos assertion will be intensified.

Furthermore, we can throw an inquiry about population growth of region that undergirds authors insistent. In this memo, prediction of increasing of residents can be extrapolated by newly built residence, but this lack of proof can lead the argument invalid. To assess this supposition, we should give a question: Is there any other evidence that can anneal anticipation that populace population will rise? If other statics or material can support this presumption, then, the author's opinion will be reinforced. If not, it will lose their clarity.

Last but not least, we can pose a doubt about weather prediction which the memo purports as this winter will be colder than past, it will last for several years. This forecast has the same tendency with the above prediction of increasing of residents. They conjecture trend of weather during the upcoming 5 years by just data of one year. Their presumption is based on deficient grounds. And this supposition has quite a risk in that if the weather is warmer than they expected, they will lose lots of money. So, we should know the answer to a question: Do other evidence that can support weather forecast exists? If the author has enough proof like statics by the national weather service center, it will intensify their argument. Otherwise, they will lose their validity

To sum up, the author may not necessarily be wrong to assert that if the company should resume production of alpaca overcoat. But, the argument has several basic weak points that cannot be overlooked easily and the conclusion is not enough strong to convince the readers. Therefore, the speaker’s assertion needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigations should encompass more conclusive above questions.