"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the above passage, the magazine insists company should hire people who sleep less than 6 hours with the support of several grounds. At first glance, these arguments seem to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that there are many unsubstantiated speculations that hinder the author from developing logical consequence.

First and foremost, mentioning that employees who sleep no more than 6 hours in advertising company is needed to make a higher profit, the magazine presumes that employers should hire people sleeping less. The author implies that another company is in the same condition as the advertising company. However, a variety of company needs specialized strategy individually for their success, not a normalized strategy, because requisites for success are different to each company. The advertising company maybe require a lot of time to accomplish their duties, while the company of internet needs innovative ideas which can be produced regardless of time. Forcing too much work and less sleep can make people ineffective in working in IT company.

Furthermore, the magazine makes an error in putting normal people and executives in the same conditions, exemplifying advertising executives. However, this supposition seems to be far-fetched because executives and normal employees are not imposed to do the same works. The normal workers do not need to stay a long time to carry out their jobs. On the other hand, executives should be always prepared for a mutation of the circumstances of their company. Also, compared to normal workers, they are tasked to conduct significant works which take a lot of times.

Last but not least, citing data of the relationship between profit and company consisted of people who need less than 6 hours of sleep, the magazine believes that amount of sleep and high profit are in causality. This implies that the amount of sleep is the most important cause for making higher earnings. However, this causality seems to be fallacious. According to the study, sleep time and profit are just in correlation, not proved as causality. Also, sleep time is one of the most important elements which produce high earnings, not the only one. To purport this relationship as causality, they should propose a more valid study.

To sum up, the owner may not necessarily be wrong to assert hiring people who sleep less than 6 hours. Though, the assertion of the magazines rests on suspicious assumption which needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigations should encompass more conclusive evidence that make the above uncertain suppositions lucid.