"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the above passage, the owner insists that change shower heads to curb maximum water flow in all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex with the support of several grounds. At first glance, these arguments seem to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that there are many unsubstantiated speculations that hinder the author from developing logical consequence.

To begin with, mentioning that prediction of decrease of water usage, the author presumes that the profits from the decline of water usage will give profit for Sunnyside Corporation The owner implies that they should change the shower heads to restricted ones for significant profits under considering that other conditions of the shower are an equivalence. However, this assumption may be fallacious. As written in a paragraph, there is no certain evidence that supports this presumption. Due to restricted water pressure, many people elongate their shower time or extend their frequency of shower, which makes comparison ambiguous. The discrepancy in conditions leads the argument invalid.

Furthermore, the author implies that if residents are not satisfied with water pressure, they would have complained, presuming that there is no problem with showers after modificationissues, but they aren’t able to make time for several reasons like lack of time, unawareness of method, or their shyness. To clarify this supposition, the owner should make a questionnaire which questions about changing of shower heads. The result of the questionnaire will show whether they are pleased with the modification of shower heads.

Last but not least, the owner makes an error with normalization of water pressure problem, presuming that success in the first three buildings means a high possibility of success in other buildings. But, the owner did not say about the comparison between the first three buildings and others which can support the presumption. If a building is higher than the first three buildings, it will produce lower water pressure than first ones, making people more unsatisfied than first buildings.

To sum up, the owner may not necessarily be wrong to assert modifying shower heads. Though, the assertion of owner rests on a suspicious assumption which needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigations should encompass more conclusive evidence that make the above uncertain suppositions lucid.