The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 of its original force. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers has been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the 20 floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.

It seems that the above passage has some unwarranted assumptions, that they are needed to be checked whether is it a good idea to decrease the water flow for the apartment or not.

First of all, the author says that to use the shower with modification to restrict the water flow to approximately 1/3 for a water flow of shower can cause lower usage of water and reducing the cost of water bills. There is no reliable evidence for proving this argument. For example, people in the apartments can stay under a shower for the longer time than the past to compensate this lower pressure, so the solution based on using the water in the same time by people.

Furthermore, the argument depends a weak assumption is that a few complaints about low water pressure, since the number of users and complaint users is unspecific. For instance, when the number of complaints is two from 6 users, this percent is very high and cannot consider as few complaints, but this number is two from 30 users can be assumed as few complaints.

Another thing that bothers me is that the owners must pay the same amount of bill for each month according to their previous contract with the former situation, not this situation that they must use new showerheads, so I think this immoral rule for users to use lower water to increase profits for the corporation. In my opinion, after a specific time, all users will be aware of this deception from their corporation, so they have many complaints not only their lower pressure but also their money.

Although the passage has some intuitive ideas about decreasing amount of water and its cost, some flawed assumptions pop up to mind about the argument that must be reconsidered.