"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to above passage, the author insists that resume of production of alpaca overcoats with the support of several grounds. At first glance, these argument seems to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that the author failed to render strong proof for the argument. Accordingly, to make a proper judgment, we need to fling a question which can clearly elucidate validity of insistence.

To begin with, mentioning the expectation of sale of overcoats through past experience, the author presumes that customer’s demand is as high as past. However, this assumption may be fallacious. To support this assertion better, the author needs to answer how guest’s demand changes over time. If demand is not as high as before, the actual sale of overcoat is less than the expectation of sale, and this means invalidity of this opinion.

Secondly, lack of reliability of new fabric can adduce another doubt. There is no evidence that new fabric can be substitute of previous fabric. To assess this recommendation, the speaker should answer a question about usefulness of new fabric. Can new fabric satisfy patron’s exacting demands? Is the quality of new fabric better than past one? If the quality of new fabric is inferior than previous one or fails to gratify customer’s expectation, the argument will be invalid. If not, the author can anneal his contention through answer.

Furthermore, according to reference that, it is possible to guess that supposition that increase of production expense is lower than increase of price underlies expectation that the company get high profit. However, this supposition is far-fetched. For more explicit opinion, we needs to pose a important question: How does difference between production expense and price of product change. If fluctuation of expense are greater than that of price, profit from overcoat industry is lower than that they expect.

To sum up, the author may not necessarily be wrong to assert that if the company should resume production of alpaca overcoat. But, the argument has several basic weak points that cannot be overlooked easily and the conclusion is not enough strong to convince the readers. Therefore, the speaker’s assertion needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigation should encompass more conclusive above questions.