Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase.

While it may have benefits for Sartorian to commence the production of alpaca overcoat again, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case to persuade the chief manager to do so based on increased demand. It is obvious that producing an overcoat by a company which has past experience in this field might be successful, but the author’s argument is rife with holes and assumptions and cannot convince the decision makers.

The author’s first mistake is to assume that he knows why the production of their alpaca overcoat stopped. He claims that the lack of wool fabric supply caused a cessation for the production alpaca overcoat as these two phenomena occurred simultaneously. This is a classic case of confusing correlation with causation. While there have been problems in acquiring high-quality fabric wool, and while at the same time there were a cessation in the production of alpaca overcoat, it does not follow that the decision not to produce alpaca overcoat was due to considering of dearth of high-quality fabric wool. Perhaps, the manager made that decision for entirely different reasons. The customers may have manifested an apathetic behaviour with regard to this product. The price of fabric wool could have increased, during that time, making it economically unaffordable to continue to produce alpaca overcoat.

The author’s citations to prove the high market demands for alpaca overcoat are similarly unsubstantiated. He posits that the numbers of complaints from customers has risen and there is no other rival company in market. To induce a general rule from specific examples, it is crucial that the specific example be representative of the larger group. The vice president may have asked two or three customers who were accidentally passing in front of the companies’ building. However, there may have been a lot of customers that are not interested in alpaca overcoat but are not questioned about the issue. Similarly, the author’s data base of the current rival companies may have been outdated. A number of other companies may have initiated to produce equal goods that can cover all the markets needs.

The conclusion that the company would gain a large profit in the case of resuming the production of alpaca overcoat is unsupported. If the lack of supply of fabric wool is not really the cause of the discontinuation, or as discussed above the demand is not so high in the market for alpaca overcoat, then there is no reason to believe that entering the market will bring the company a high profit. In addition, a higher price, mentioned by the author, may also affect the raw materials and equipment values so that the expenses out weigh the benefits.

While it is clear that the company can be successfully gain its fair share in the market by resuming the production of alpaca overcoat, but this author’s argument is unsubstantiated and cannot persuade the chief managers.