Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

People have different views about what courses students should study in the schools. While some argue that it is better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas such as science and technology, I believe that even disciplines as history can be beneficial in people's future.

First, some people posit that fields like science and technology are much crucial than others. They allude to many personal and societal facts to substantiate their positions. From a personal view, science and technology act as basics for university disciplines like engineering and medicine. Both of the aforementioned careers have higher incomes than any other job today. Thus, people who focus on these fields will experience a more prosperous future lives. Additionally, from a societal viewpoint, science aids people by finding solutions for excruciating enigmas. For example, this is the science that addresses cures for cancer. Besides, the more a country advances in technology, the higher its GDP will be and all people will be more successful, because technology devices not only facilitate lives, but also provides jobs in export section of the economy as is the case in information technology in India.

Contradictory to this group, I postulate that history has a salient role in a country's curriculum. If someone learns history, he will become a nicer citizen in future. For instance, a history student gets familiar with World War I and World War II, thereby giving more credit to global peace, and also tries to be as cool as possible in his life with others. Moreover, history is rife with parables of great people's lives. Studying history makes it possible for learners to examine what successful people like Cyrus did and compare them with what villains like Chengiz took over. Based on this comparison, one can decide about his way of life much firmly.

In conclusion, although concentrating on science and technology has a lot of benefits both for individuals and societies, I personally believe that history also should be considered as an equally necessary subject because of its influence in enhancing people's traits and the ability to decide better about their lives.