Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

This is a modern era. All of the people wants to wear new and fashionable dresses. In this argument, author argues that recovering the old alpaca overcoat will take the advantages business. This looks like a simple and easy going idea but in fact it is not that simple as explained by this prompt. There are several unforeseen aspects in the argument. Hence the argument is not cogent.

First of all, the first flaw in the assumption is that author compare the two different time with same eye. Which is completely ridiculous: there is no any persuasive evidence. During the five years time period man attitude and behavior is completely changed. Perhaps their choice also be changed. Author could not discuss about this thing. Moreover, what type of that alpaca overcoat? How much price was declared before the 5 years ago.

Secondly, the second and still weak assumption is that there is piles of demand: they had not taken any order. Even if it is true; it creates the disgruntle towards our company. Customer only care about the product not the company. Clothes are the fundamental things, always needed for man, customers may change the choice of company. Which makes the loss for the company.

Finally, third and totally foolhardy thought is that there is no other competition; author's company only make the good product. This type of panorama is better only if customer makes that comments. This is the era of competition; anyone can give challenge to that company. Author should concerned with these details. What are the major factors to get the profit? Serious calculation of the details like as: customer choice, validity of product, demand of the market, only determined the profit of company.

To recapitulate, in order to get the profit, details calculation, more discussion is needed. It is better to make new research with minor details because current argument rife with many holes in an assumption.