In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities

The argument topics stated that it is needed to make a budget for recreational activities around the riverside. To bolster this conclusion, author makes many assumptions. Author argues that after adding water related recreational activities rivers will be clean. This looks like a simple and easy going idea but in fact it is not that simple as mentioned by this prompt. There are several unforeseen aspects in this argument.

First of all, author claims that direct concern about the river by local residents really help to develop the river's water quality.This seems foolhardy assumption since this assumption still could not remove the many confusion. Why river becomes sordid? What are the major factors affecting the natural beauty of river? Are you sure if recreational activities get started then quality of water will improve.

Secondly, water of that river is malodorous and dirty; however, who are the responsible for these types of problem. There is no any risk to establish the entertain scenario. Sometimes entertainment activities brings the dirty environment. In order to obliterated that type of problem by using cleaning campaign.

Thirdly, what are the others process of cleaning the river. Other best methods can solve this conundrum. Author provide the evidence that government can provide furn to solve this problem, but in fact, perhaps there are others serious problems may have arise. If we make recreational activities which effect the temporarily of their studies because they loss their crucial time by playing water games.

To recapitulate, it is vulnerable to arise other problem. Before implement this policy, further details research is needed. Because careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it merely supports the argument, this argument is incomplete.