universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Universities offer a variety of classes from liberal arts to major classes. Students take only a few liberal arts and most of them take courses related to their major. So experts insist that because recent trend is crossover of diverse areas, so parochial knowledge is unavailing. But, I don't agree with this statement. There will be some students who don't need any other courses without their major courses. Moreover, taking classes which students don't want isn't efficient for school and student.

Admittedly, nowadays, broadening extent of knowledge is regarded as one of the most important factor which society demand for graduated student. Because, there are many innovations from ideas. These thought are just banal in one field otherwise they could be novel in different fields.

However, not all students benefit from all kinds of classes. While various and opulent common sense will benefit some kinds of fields like arts or musics which need varied inspiration, there are other fields that don't need any other background from unrelated fields like physics and math. Assume that students in physics department are required to take some economy classes. Even though they get A grade in that classes, knowledge from economy won't work at all in their study of physics. If so, there are no reasons that students in physic should attend to economy classes.

Furthermore, mandatory course could give opposite effect to student. Obligation in selection of courses will adversely affect how students spare their time in choice of course. In this situation, students will lose their time to take their major course. Additionally, students won't work well in their compulsive course. For example, take examples used in preceding paragraph. If students whose major is physics are not interested in their economy course, then they won't earn any high marks. Meanwhile they also lose their time to study their major course. In this point, they won’t get any advantage.

To sum up, broadening common sense benefit students in that they give unconventional thinking in many fields. Though they are unavailing in all fields. Some kinds of fields don’t need any extra knowledge for their study. What’s more, extra-curriculum course will backfire to many students who don’t want to take that course.