The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to above passage, the author insists that program of radio should be changed from music format into news and talk format with the support of several grounds. At first glance, these argument seems to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that there are many unsubstantiated speculations that hinder the author from developing logical consequence.

To begin with, mentioning growth of retired people moving to listening area, the author presumes that new residents are not willing to listen their music format radio. This implies that if they can't attract their new potent costumers they can't reverse this decline. However, this assumption is fallacious, because if new residents don't account for substantial percentage of entire population, there is not quite fluctuation of radio rates that is occurred by new people.

Secondly, the author assumes that their lack of interest in music causes fall of sales of album from the passage citing that fall of sales of music album means decrease of interest in music of local resident. The author think that there is no future of music format without people's interest of music. This means that But, this speculation could be wrong. Nowadays, purchasing music files in internet is generally carried out instead of buying and using album. These inclination inevitably cause shift of main store of music industry from album to internet, causing drop of sales of album. So, even if people are interested in music as usual, sales of album is going to drop more and more.

Furthermore, it is possible to guess that idea that people in this area favor news and talk program than music program underlies assertion of change of program. The author connote that alternation of form of radio absolutely make increase of popularity like another news and talk program. Nevertheless, this premise seems far-fetched because of their insufficient evidence. Reason of public interest of other news and talk format program may be not on their format, but their charming point like outstanding mc, their editing format, or unconventional tries compared to other programs. There are too many options that should be considered. Just changing format would not be a good solution for their popularity.

To sum up, the author may not necessarily be wrong to assert switching their format. Though, the speaker’s assertion rests on suspicious assumption which needs more scrutiny to undergird it. To bolster the argument, these investigation should encompass more conclusive evidence that proportion of new residents in this area, decline of music interest, and whether there are other reasons of prosperity of format of news and talk show