• Some university professors let their students choose their research topics themselves. Some do not. Which one do you think is better? Why?

A glance at students’ attitude toward choosing the research topics, brings to the light a question that has been asking several times, namely, professors must let students to choose the topics or not. Some people believe that if students make the decision about topics, they are more willing to finish the research projects. However, in my opinion, as a graduated pharmacy student, I assert that professors are more qualified to suggest the best and newest topics for researches.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that teachers in a specific science area have more knowledge about ongoing and effective researches. For example, when I wanted to choose a subject for my thesis, I preferred to work on a specific human breast cancer cell, but my advisor recommendation was to focus on mouse’s colon cancer cells, since it is easier to purchase and reproduce them. If I did not listen to her, I had to study two years more which was not what I wanted. Students must trust their instructors experience and knowledge. Therefore, Supervisors are more qualified to decide about research topics and guide their pupils to follow a logical method.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that if students just work on topics they like and are interested to, later in their carrier, when they encounter boring subjects, they do not know what to do and the problems arise. A study at Harvard University, department of psychology, shows that people who force themselves to do unpleasant tasks and stay patient, they will be more successful in their life and career, compared with control group who just kept doing normal and ordinary responsibilities. If everybody just does whatever s/he likes, s/he cannot overcome unwanted situation and feels failure. Hence, doing researches that are not our favorite, raises our abilities and improves us.

Admittedly, people can finish tasks which they like better and earlier. A person whose passion is genetics probably cannot concentrate well on immunology subjects. But my opinion is that if the person compel herself to complete it, afterward she can do harder and harder duties without problem which is favorable. So, although staying at comfort zone has some advantages, the benefits of jumping out of it is more important.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend students to accept their professors suggested topics and increase their capabilities.