Some young adults want to be independent as soon as possible. While others prefer to live with family member as long as they can.

Some young adult these days seek independence from their parents, while others actually prefer living with their family for longer periods. In my opinion, I think independence from the parents is better. I feel this way for several reasons which I will state in this essay.

To begin with I believe that it is very important for young adults to be independent from their families, this would teach them critical skills that otherwise would be hard to learn. For example my friend who is thirty years old now moved out from his parents house at the age of twenty five, too late I think, and as result, he is having problems adapting to the real world, where he need to manage utility bills, rent, cooking and a lot more. He often complaints to me about these things, and I believe he would not have been in this situation if he had moved out from his parents house earlier and learned to carry out basic responsibilities.

Secondly, I think once young adults are independent so many doors open for them, and they will become more bold with decisions they make and often take risks and explore their potential. I stand as a perfect example of this. when I was seventeen years old I was a shy young boy, I was afraid to go out of the house to meet new people, and in some cases even people I knew like friends and extended family members. However, this changed once I was forced to move out of my parents house, to go study in a far from home university. Once I found my self being able to communicate with other people my self confidence grew, and it renewed my view for life, I believe this experience made my a better person, a happier person, I traveled I have seen the world I took risks and I enjoyed life.

In conclusion I am of the opinion that it is a great idea for young adult to seek independence from their parents this is because it would help them develop critical skills, and because it provide opportunities for positive change.