Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible, While some young adults prefer to live with their families longer. Which do you think is better?

According to me, the situation where young adults prefer to live longer with their parents, is what I prefer. There are many reasons for doing so, both economical and emotional. Economical reasons being saving money, maintaining budget and support from family. Emotional reasons being taking care of parents, strong connection with parents and availability of moral support.

The primary reason for living with parents is financial support. The young adults are trying to establish their careers at that time. For that they start with scratch i.e. with no money or very little money. So living with parents save their major expenditures like apartment rent money, electricity bills or food bills. They are more able to focus on their careen and passions. Also in case when these young adults are unable to secure a job or searching for jobs, parents are there to help them with their financial need. For example, in India, young adults if they are in same locality, they stay with their parents. Their parents not only help them with getting on their feet but actually pay for their college tuition and other related expenses. That way their children can get proper college education and secure their future.

The secondary and most important reason why young adults prefer to live with their parents is quite emotional. Again for example, in a country like India, children are taught from childhood about their responsibilities to respect and take care to their parents when they get older. The children in India are quite close to their parents and want to take responsibilities of their growing old parents. Also the connection between a mother and child is very strong, so many even after going into the adulthood doesn't break the bond of love between a mother and a child. So young adult choose to stay with parents out of love. Further the young adults recieve moral support and crucial advice from their parents when they are going through a rough time. So for the young adults, their parents act as their pillars.

Therefore due to the above mentioned reasons, I think the situation where the young adults live with their parents for a longer time, is better.