The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter to the editor for West Lansburg News urges that in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. But the conclusion derived is not very sound. The conclusion makes many assumptions and draw results on limited support.

First of all, the author makes a comparison between two different species of animals namely - groundhog and otters and offers that the population of otters declined when eastern Carpenteria lost it's status as sanctuary. So he assumes that the population of groundhogs will also deplete, if the road is built along the edge of coastal wetlands of Lansburg. But the basis of comparison is not on point. Otters and groundhogs , both are different species with different habitat and environmental needs. Factors affecting the decline of their population can be different. The author is neglecting this fact.

Also, The repeal of sanctuary status took place in 1978 and a long time has passed since then. The conditions which actually led to the decline of otter population almost 25 years has no connection ,whatsoever , with the effect of building of a road along the coastal wetlands in the modern time. People and governments today are more concerned about the wildlife and environment comparative to 20 years ago.

Also, building of roads and ceasing to be a sanctuary are totally two different cases. On one hand the roads help in easy transportation while a sanctuary helps in saving the wildlife from human interference. So the decline of otters may be because of the lack of care for wildlife due to repeal of the sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria. But the roads do not affect the wildlife and hence the population of otters in any direct way. So the concern about preservation of region's biodiversity and ensuring a healthy environment by not building roads is quite far fetched.

Furthermore there is no mention of the removal of sanctuary status of coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. So until this happens, there is no direct threat to the population of otters in that area due to the roads.

Hence I would conclude that the reasoning of the author is underdeveloped and lacking many strong evidences to support his claim that In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. Author needs scientific proof regarding if the conditions to live for otters and groundhogs are similar. Also he needs to make sure in what way the roads are going to harm the wildlife present there. Unless author provides this type of solid evidence to support his claim, the claim is actually unwarranted and at-least won't convince me of his judgement.