The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim says that the actual talent of a real musician is assessed only when the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his/her fame does not gets in the way of an honest assessment. I am not entirely in support of the claim. Yes there are a lot of examples of musicians who are treated as legends long time after their deaths but this does not means they were not appreciated for their music when they were alive.

First of all lets take the example of Beethoven, whose melodies are still one of the finest of the music of all time. Even if his music is considered legendary at present times, no one can say that his music was not appreciated during the time when he was alive. He was quite famous for his symphonies and composition during the eighteenth century when his musical career was at the heyday of it's time.

Also today, we can see the instances of some great or excellent musicians who are alive and they are treasured for their music too. No one can say that Adele doesn't have the most beautiful voice of all time or Taylor swift isn't one of the most talented singer-songwriter of today's music industry. We can also take a look at the musical talent of Lady Gaga and Micheal Jackson, they are famous because they are very good musicians, who reign on the hearts of most of the world's music lovers.

Furthermore, no one can get famous for a consistent time if they do not have true talent. We humans, today live in an era where nothing can remain hidden from the sight of media. There is no chance for any positive fame, if a musician is not talented. Many excellent singers like Chirstina Grimme, Kelly Clarkson, Sunidhi Chouhan were discovered only due to that media, which brings fame to these hidden talents and put them in the spotlight of music producers and the world alike. If they wouldn't have true talent, they don't have any chance for real fame.

Also there are so many different musicians, who represent different kind of music genres, who is to say that what is true musical talent and what is not? There are musicians like Carrie Underwood , Eminem , Katy Perry who represent different aspects and genres of music and still they rule over their music genres. Their music , for their fans is the best of it's kind. They are not dead, and yet appreciated for their music styles.

Yes there are many instances of musicians, who were admired for their musical genius after they died like Bob Marley, Amy Winehouse, but that does not mean that the real talent of a musician is only truly judged only after his/her death, when there is no fame to get in the way of real assessment. On the other hand, it shows that good musicians always stay alive in the hearts and mind of musical community. They are venerated for their contribution.