Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Others want to stay with their families for a longer time. Which of these two you prefer and why?

Many young adults prefer to move away from parents to enjoy there independence, while some prefer to stay with families for longer time. Some are forced to move away from parents due to location of universities or colleges and some purposely move away. I personally would prefer to live with my family longer for several reasons. Most important of them are to be disciplined, to not worry about money and to focus more on my academics.

First, I think the most important quality among any person is his discipline. While we live with our parents we have to follow certain sets of rules and be disciplined. This discipline would then help me further when I will be living an independent life. For example, I have a friend at university dorms who shares a room with his friend. When I visited his dorm, I noticed undone laundry and untidy room. Their eating and sleeping patterns where also unusual, due to which he had fallen ill several times during the years of college. Hence, I think if i live with my family, I would become more habitual to be disciplined which will later help me when I start living independently.

Second, saving money is a major problem when we are living independently. I'd say its one of a negative side of living independently as you'd always have much less money. Even though I will be independent I won't have enough money to enjoy it. With academic studies, lectures and projects there would be very less time for part time job. Buying food everyday will be costly, so I'd have to make my own food if I have rented a flat and stay out of campus. I remember my friends at the dorms eating cheap unhealthy foods like ramen to save money. This adversely affected their health. Not being able to save money will not only affect my ability to enjoy independent life but also affect my health. Thus I'd prefer to stay with family for longer time so I won't have to worry about my money until I finish my studies.

Finally, the another important benefit of staying with parents will be that there would be less things to worry about. I will be able to focus more on my studies. I won't have to worry about electricity bills, buying groceries, paying rent, cooking food and other stuff. For example, if I have a major test in couple of days, I won't have to worry about buying groceries or paying rent and concentrate completely on my studies. This would in turn help me secure more grades. Also, by working part time I can save more money. I can later use this money when I start living independently and have enough money if faced with an emergency. Hence, I think being able to focus more on y studies is more important than my independence.

Hence, I thing longer time with families would be a better option as it would make me stay disciplined, save money and be less worried of stuff like rent and bills while concentrating on my studies.