A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

At this very moment somewhere in the world crime is being committed, it may be impulsive or a well though out crime. The nature and reason of crime is of great importance while judging its severity. I do not agree with the statement that people knowingly committing crime shall lose his or her civil rights as well as right to benefit from his or her labor.

The nature of crime needs to be highly comprehended. A crime can be petty as stealing few dollars to very serious such murdering someone. For example, recently a man was arresting for not paying his bills and mortgage. Later, it was found out that the man was suffering from cancer. He had to spend a lot of his money and savings on his treatment, due to which he was unable to pay his mortgage or bills. In such cases the person must not lose his civil rights or benefits from labor. These are conditions when we must understand that even though crime was committed some leniency is necessary. In this cases state should grant amnesty as well as allow full retainment of civil rights.

However, when serious crimes are considered justice system must be stern with the castigation. Although the criminals must be punished in the cases of murder or rape, they must not loose their civil rights. Our civil rights are what makes us human. Civil rights are bestowed upon us by the laws of state. Denying one of civil rights would be betraying humanity. Also, taking away ones right to benefit from his or her own labor will be slavery. Our justice system should strive to make criminals better humans instead of treating them like animals, i.e, taking away their rights.

Conversely, not taking ones civil right away might help a criminal get lose. For example, if an criminal is affluent he might be able to hire top lawyers to fight for his case. Because of his civil rights he will be able to have a lawyer. Even if he couldn't afford a lawyer, countries government will provide one. As a result, there is a chance that a criminal might get lose. During such times, we must trust our judges and juries for coming to a right conclusion and accepting their decision, instead of denying the suspect of his civil rights. For example, if we have a suspect who is accused of committing a crime, but we deny him his civil rights. This will cause him in becoming a convict without even having a fair trial. Hence, one should not lose hii civil rights as well as right to benefit from his or her labor.

Consequently, the nature of crime decides the punishment for the crime. However, to be humane one must not be forced to do away with his civil rights and right to earn benefits from his or her labor.