A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Argument states that the movies budget must be increased by 10% in order to avoid it from being a failure. This argument is highly flawed because author makes several assumptions about the first-time director as well as other casts and crew. Author aslo assumes that not increasing budget will virtually assure failure without proper reasoning or evidence.

The first-time director has an initial experience in shooting shampoo commercials, however, no experience in shooting movies. Hence, author assumes that director will take shoot after shoot needing extra money. Author here assumes that the director will shoot the movie same way as he shot commercials. The director might have a completely different efficient strategy of shooting for movies. He might use different camera angle or positions in order to mask anything wrong with the scene. Or have actors repeat the script several times before performing the shoot. The director might be using tools which might quicken the process of shooting. Author hasn't considered any of the above possibilites. If the director intends to reduce the time of shooting, the extra budget might not be required and the argument will be flawed.

Again, author makes another assumption without taking into considering different possibilities. Author assumes that 10% increase in the budget will be sufficient to save the movie from failure. Author fails to consider the amount of extra time the actors and crew will have to perform if director takes shoot after shoot. Director might take so many shoots that crew and actors might demand double the salary, as a result 10% might not be enough. Conversely, the actors might not even want extra salaries. They might be acting for experience or for fun. The author needs to properly study the salaries and demands of the cast and crews as well as the amount of extra time the director will be needing to shoot the movie. Not properly considering the above points might lead to waste of money or might lead to incomplete movie causing the project to fail.

Fininally, another assumption that author made was that adverting buisness in notoriously wasteful. Author fails to provide any study or evidence that shooting advertisements is wasteful. Author assumes that simply taking extra shoots leads to waste of time or money. Extra shoots might infact be helping the video to be exactly as the director wants leading to more liking from the audiance which indirectly will help making more profit. The extra money spent on the commercial might later lead to greater profits. Author must therefore consider whether there really a waste of money and time, and if there is it worth it. A little extra time and money might make the movie a blockbuster.

In conclusion, due to various assumptions regarding the director and requirement of extra money, argument is deeply flawed. Author fails to provide proper evidence for his assumptions. The salaries of actors and crew as well as wastefullness of the advertising industries must be properly stutied in order to come to proper assumptions.