Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Our goals are continuously shaped by our interests, society and our surrounding. Author claims that young people are advised to follow their dreams however, more emphasis should be given on picking worthy goals. Reason being many people's dreams are inherently selfish. Author’s statement is partially agreeable because certain things have to be considered such as an individual’s nature and society's role. Also the reasons to follow a particular goal must be taken into account.

Picking worthy goals is a boon for society as well as for oneself. Goals should be alligned in such a way such that it not only helps society but also contributes towards the progress of humanity. For example, one might have a goal of becoming worlds best video gamer. Even though such individual acheives his dreams, his social contributions would be far less than lets say an environment lawyer. This individual then can be motivate to play for some awareness cause or charity which will be beneficial for society. Hence, along with following dreams, making those dreams into worthy goals is important.

Picking our goals depends a lot on our surroundings, family support, society and various other factors. Worthy goals with less materialistic pursuit might need an individual to be from a more affluent or wealthy family as there would be no worries about basic ammenities. Whereas a person from a poor background may have his goal to be richest man in the world. Worthy goals may vary from country to country and also state to state. In Western countries people would have more independence of following their dreams, while in poor countries, young individuals would be obliged to follow a track set by their surroundings, society or family. Following dreams without any concern for society of people we care for would be selfish.

Although young people, especially those from poorer regions of the world might not have a choice of pursuing their dreams and have to follow the path laid out by the people around them, everyone has only one life and have to live it to its fullest. Following a path which leds to your dreams while doing something worthy whithin the social, economic and political bounds would be a better choice for any young individual.

I partially agree with the claim that Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals and agree on the reason on the condition that people following their dreams completely disregard the society and people around them.