Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your own opinion.

Responsibility and commitment are the key factors of becoming an independent person. In order to live apart from our parents, we have to acknowledge how to take care for ourselves. In my opinion, the youth should have independence as soon as they acknowledge responsibility, commitment, and planning.

To begin with, people, who live alone, have a better understanding of budget planning. Since they possess a fixed amount of money each month, they have to learn to distribute their money correctly. For example, as an international student, my friend counts her income and spent money. She sometimes restricts to treat herself (buy a new outfit or spend a day in a SPA salon) in order to pay for bills and groceries. Furthermore, living alone means that we must follow our timetable that includes studies, house works, and hobbies. Since in a day we have only 24 hours, we must spend that time wisely and productively.

To continue, young people, who live with their family, are usually more dependent on their families. Due to the fact that parents have been caring for us for many years, we seem to them as if innocent children. However, living alone is one method for most of us to show them our maturity and personal growth. By solving problems without parents’ intervention most of us become independent and reliable people.

We cannot deny that living with parents has such advantage as boosting cooperation and unity between members of the family. However, what we fail to realize that people who are independent tend to learn basic life skills more efficiently and make the right decision on their own than people who are under the protection of their families.

In conclusion, it is extremely beneficial to young adults live independently from a young age. It provides them with a better understanding of their duties and responsibilities and helps them to plan not only time but also their budget.