Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

Accumulating work experience by taking a part-time job or volunteering in a community

Learning to play a sport

Learning to play a musical instrument

It seems that everyone in the world aspires to achieve something so as to live life to the full, especially the young who have a glorious future before themselves. Although a vast majority of people agree with this notion, opinions on how to achieve one's ambitious dreams or realistic goals are diverse. As a broadly-disseminated idea goes that the other 8 hours of free time determine one's success, an increasing number of young people are pondering a problem of how to maximize their "free" time—the 8 hours in the day when they are not studying, working or sleeping. As far as I am concerned, from the three above-mentioned ways to utilize the free time, I would unhesitatingly choose the second one—learning to play a sport.

Despite the fact that the 8 hours after work or study can be a valuable resource one has to achieve one's ideal life, let's be honest first, the time when one is working or studying is the most valuable. It is imperative for either students or workers to make the full use of this "unfree" time for any academic pursuit or career advancement, in which case an investment of large amounts of energy and attention is required. Then, physical and mental fatigue would unavoidably ensue. Therefore, the way I see it, when these young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, relieving their tiredness should be given top priority. Learning to play a sport and engaging in related sports activities, even just for a few minutes, will help to relax their muscles and relieve the tension in the face, neck, shoulders and other body parts. Alvin Oldman, a lead researcher of New Channel Health Center, emphasized that people who exercise regularly feel more energetic throughout the day, sleep better at night, and feel more relaxed and positive about themselves and their lives.

It is tempting to argue that play sports will help to relax, so will learning to play a musical instrument and engaging in related musical activities. Nevertheless, further analysis would reveal that playing a musical instrument is not so easy as expected. A simple piece of music may require seven consecutive days of practice, for which seldom would persist. Meanwhile, just hearing a couple of musical notes by touching the strings of guitar or hitting the keys of piano is neither likely to relieve one mentally since no melodious music is produced nor likely to relieve one physically in the same way sports does.

As for the first choice, let's be honest once again, little working experience could be accumulated through a part-time job or volunteering in a community simply due to the fact that little amount of time is devoted to this kind of work. This so called first-hand experience lasts for such a short time that participants barely knows what the rules and regulations of a certain company are or how the business operations are conducted. Moreover, do not interpret part-time job or volunteering work literally, more often than not they can be rather demanding, and of course, time-consuming, for which seldom would persist.

In conclusion, learning to play a sport is young people's best choice in their free time.