students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends

In my opinion, I agree that teachers influence students in some way, but the influence of friends are broader and more general. So, I disagree with the statement mentioned above for the following reasons.

First, the only place where students contact their teachers is the classroom at school. However, students meet there friends anywhere at school and lunch break and even while school activities where they hang out together. This consequently limits the influence of teachers who meet their students only at classroom versus friends who are more available most of the time.

Moreover, the time spent with friends make the students more affected and closer to their friends than their teachers. As I mentioned before, the only time when a student get to interact with his teacher is at school and most of their interaction will be on academic topics. While students spend more time with their friends specially after the evolution of technology that made it so easy to communicate with anyone at any time wherever you are. Eventually, the time spent with friends is more than the time spent with teachers that is limited to school hours.

Finally, psychologically speaking, students tend to spend more time with friends of their age. So, they won’t be judged by friends who share the same style, problems, and issues while they might be judged by their teachers due to age difference between teachers and students. meanwhile, students speak same language, have same dreams as their friends and this eventually let students speak openly with their friends about studies, problems, and interests. That’s why friends are of greater influence than teachers whom topics are mostly restricted academically.

To put it in a nutshell, both teacher and friends influence the students. However, the influence of friends is more than that of teachers.