Students could receive a better, more efficient education if they spend 11 months a year studying.

Education is important to all the nations. To deliver a better and efficient education, some people argue that it is advisable to ask students to study for continuous 11 months. However, I highly doubt this idea can achieve its goal.

First of all, 11-month-study will eliminate the interest of study and thus lower the efficiency. Every day, students repetitively follow the daily routine of going to school, listening to classes and finishing the homework. There is no end for studying. Students seem to be trapped in a big hole named studying and cannot escape from it. Gradually, school becomes a boring or even horrible place and students are desperate for something brand new in their life. At that time, no one considers studying as joyful and meaningful. However, no one denies the importance of interest on efficiency. Having no passion in studying, students study passively and unwillingly, which will lead to low efficiency

In addition, 11-month-study will leave no time for review and thinking, which hampers students from discovering the way of improving efficiency. With new knowledge learned every day, students have no time to stop and review what have been learned in the past by himself/herself. They also have no time to think about the problems and the solutions in their studying process. It becomes harder and harder for them to enhance their efficiency as they never know where and how to improve. Take my brother as an example. He always makes a systematical self-evaluation on the summer and winter vacation including class content, studying method, his own research area, just as a period summary. On the next semester, he will try to improve himself according to the summary of the last semester. However, if there is no rest between each semester, he has to work constantly and leave no time for self-review and self-improvement.

Moreover, 11-month-study will exploit the time for self-interest. As an old saying goes, all work no play makes Jack a dull boy.Students have no time to develop their self-interest anymore if they are required to study for most of the year. They will have no time in traveling, having no chance to get close to nature and discover the amazing animal life. They will also have no time playing piano or basketball as they have homework to do every day. Their lives are all about studying. However, what if they graduate from the school. What if they step into the society. They don't know what to do because the only thing they know is to study. They don't have any hobby so they don't know what to do in the future. They don't have any specialty so they find a hard time finding a job. Education is never limited to the knowledge of the textbook, it is also about what to do in the future. Self-interest could guide us the direction of future, but it is spoiled by staying in the school all the time.

Better education is never about ranking first in the class. It is about finding the true happiness in the study, learning how to be self-educated and finding the goal of the life. However, these cannot be achieved by spending 11 months studying.