students do reading by their own is as important as or more important than the reading teachers assigned.

Currently, the society is paying more attention to pedagogical methods, therefore what materials should be read by students become a controversial topic. Some people reckon that reading as their own wishes is the optimal approach to improving their academic performances, while others believe that reading what teachers have assigned is expedient for them, especially when time is limited. As far as I am concerned, I agree that it is better for students to choose their reading materials according to their own demands rather than being restricted by teachers’ assignments and my arguments for this point are listed as follows.

One of the primary causes is that choosing books based on their personal preference can trigger their real interest in reading. As a result, they may have higher efficiency to finish the job. Additionally, it also exaggerates their possibility of having a deep understanding of books. Imagine a scene like this, if a student were asked to read something tedious, he or she would probably not have passion and energy to do so, which exerts negative influences on absorbing knowledge. Here is a case in point. Steve Jobs was extremely fond of electronic devices. Hence, driven by his enthusiasm for it, he read plenty of books about electronic engineering. What if he was forced to read books beyond his area of interest, for instance, natural science or art? It was impossible for him to achieve the same extraordinary success he had done. This example delineates that academic interests play an important role in enhancing students’ performances, thus more freedom should be authorized to students.

In addition, choosing reading materials cultivates the ability to make decisions independently among several options. More concretely, when students are making their reading lists, it is unavoidable for them to compare different books and estimate which one has a higher value. If they make their choice without acquiring help from teachers, they become more experienced in tackling tasks individually. For instance, I make acquaintance with a friend named Michael whose life is completely arranged by his parents. His parents make almost all the choices for him such as which city to live in and which career to specialize in. Therefore, his lack of experience in making choices gives rise to his insufficiency in making choices without resorting to others.

Admittedly, some individuals may argue that teachers are fully fledged in choosing books so that they are capable of designating a more suitable reading list for students. It is actually true that, to some extent, it is essential for us to seek suggestions from experts in a certain field. However, if we are over-reliant on others’ assistance when we are confronted with adversity, it is likely that we fail to attain well-rounded abilities and tackle hardships by ourselves.

Generally speaking, it is essential for students to make their own choices to decide which books to read, because making a personal reading list not only generates students’ learning enthusiasm but also does benefits to making choices independently.