students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

People may be shifting to the idea that libraries are unnecessary these days due to the fact that students have easy access to information via the internet. I disagree with this because libraries allow people to not only attain specialised types of information but also provide a quiet environment to study.

Firstly, one reason to support libraries is that some types of specialised information cannot be found on the Internet. For instance, the Toronto reference library is a closed reserve facility where patrons can only access information on-site. In other words, some well-known academic authors do not immediately publish their recent work online, instead, they publish books explaining their analyses and results. To put it in another way, these books are usually found in school and public libraries before they appear on the world wide web. Thus, supporting libraries would give the community access to these valuable resources.

Coupled with having a wealth of information, a suitable study environment is another benefit of a library. To illustrate this, research carried out by Oxford University in 2015 stated that students spent a large proportion of their time in the library researching and writing. In fact, libraries are perfect environments for this as they are very quiet and everyone there is motivated to study. Libraries have very strict noise rules and offer a large space with comfortable seating arrangements. As a result, they create an academic environment that encourages deep concentration.

In conclusion, although the internet is of great benefit to students, I believe that libraries are still necessary as they grant access to specialized sources of information and their facilities provide better conditions for studying. It is suggested that more funding goes into libraries to ensure that they are well-deigned and resourceful facilities for a community.