"A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. " use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I agree with the statement that the teacher should be able to connect and relate with the students.

The connection between the teacher and her students is very important for a smooth transfer of thoughts. The knowledge imparted by the teacher should be well perceived by her students. Sometimes the student can be weak and unable to understand what the teacher is talking about. In such a situation, the teacher should be able to relate and come up with an innovative solution to explain the issue.

A teacher should be able to look into the student’s mind, and think in a similar manner to know the root problem. For example, our physics teacher would explain the lever mechanism through an example of the sea saw; of how the weight application on one side, lifts up the other side. Such a simple solution can be provided to a theory which could be difficult to understand by reading only.

On the other hand, a teacher who is well read and has abundant amount of knowledge will not be able to explain it in the same way. The same lever mechanism could be explained through theories and mathematical derivations which school students might not understand. In this case, the entire purpose of teaching and learning is defeated, since nobody is benefiting from the activity.

When a teacher knows the student’s way of learning and absorbing information, she/he can use particular techniques of teaching. This is only possible if the teacher can relate to the student and thus takes extra efforts to go out of her way to teach.

Biological lessons can be made interesting by actually stepping out of the class and giving real life examples of say, transpiration and evaporation. The same phenomenons can be explained sitting in class through diagrams and text, but the amount of knowledge gained is less since a weaker student will not be able to connect with what the teacher is explaining.

To conclude, a student’s formative years in school are crucial and the knowledge imparted is best perceived in those years. Hence, the effectiveness is important which can be achieved through a cohesive environment generated by the teachers and students.