Teachers should give primary children(aged5-10)assignments less than 30minutes, because they have enough instructions in regular school classes. Do you agree or disagree?

Assignment is a indispensable part of schooling for children aged from 5 to 10 years old as children are able to strengthen what has been imparted by teachers in regular school classes. Some people believe that the assignments should be limited within thirty minutes, while others advance the opposite opinion. Towards such a rag-of-war, I am inclined to claim that the assignments need to be limited within thirty minutes.

To begin with, the short-time assignment, no more than thirty minutes, frees children’s time after class, and children can take advantage of such time with friends to do more outdoors activities, which are undoubtedly beneficial for physical health and creativity development of children. If children have to finish tons of assignments per day after class, they have no other option but siting in rooms and writing homework. Children have already sit for a long period of time in daytime, and thus letting children continue to sit in front of desks in the evening is definitely harmful for children’s physical health. Instead, children should be encouraged to go outside to play and breathe fresh air after class, and playing is a kind of exercise, which helps children keep strong body. What’s more, outdoors activities allow children to develop creativity. For instance, when children go to zoo they can see a variety of animals, such as monkeys, eagles and fish. When they see monkeys they may think how the monkeys can climb tall trees, when they notice eagles they may conceive that what they want to do if they can fly as eagles do, and when they observe fish they may start to imagine what the life is like under water. The process of thinking and imagining is fundamental for children’s creativity development.

Moreover, long-time assignment cannot achieve the goal that children can strengthen study via assignment. To illustrate more clearly, if children spend more than a half hour on homework, they cannot keep focusing on it, causing the study efficiency to diminish drastically. According to a research conducted by an authority, children below fourteen years old only can consistently concentrate on one particular thing for approximately a half hour, and after a half hour children will think about something not related at all. Therefore, more assignments do not mean better effect of studying for children. In addition, the playing is the nature of children. If children are buried by tons of homework and have no have time to play, they will become anxious as well as overwhelmed, such feeling discouraging children to study and do homework. As a result, long-time assignments that cannot be withstood by children are likely to harm children’s pro activity of study.

In the light of what has been analyzed above, there is every reason to believe that assignment less than thirty minutes for children aged from five to ten years old should be recommended concerning body and creativity development as well as maintenance of study efficiency and pro activity.