Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays (not mine)

Over the past few years, the issue of whether or not in the past, teacher gain more respect in the society than nowadays has received a great deal of attention from teachers and sociologists. Although some may say that people have always valued the importance of teachers in their life, and appreciated them; I, as well as many others, believe that due to the constant development in the society and changes in the people's lifestyle, teacher do not have the position they used to have in the society.

First of all, an important reason why teachers are less appreciated these days in comparison to the past is that there are more educated people in the society nowadays. Many sociologists argue that teachers were well valued by the people in the past because being educated made teachers part of the elite portion of the society. On the other hand, due to the constant developments of the countries, there is a large amount of people who have academic education in these days’ societies. Therefore, educated people are not as important as they were in the past.

A further reason why people do not value teachers like the past is that teachers have less importance in the children's life these days. It is commonly mentioned by the experts that as parents did not pay enough attention to their children education and future life, and also most of them were illiterate, they do not have an important role in their children's life. Thus, teachers not only had to educate students, but also had to care about their students' future life and try to guide them to the right way, so they were more appreciated.

Finally, it is occasionally said that teachers are less valued in these days society because of the decline in their sense of responsibility. Most of the psychologists say that modern lifestyle has changed people in many aspects, and one of them is their loyalty. In the past people were more bounded to their responsibilities and they were always trying to do their best in their job. In contrast, people are more arrogant these days and they just think about themselves. As a result, many jobs and positions such as teachers do not have the value and importance they used to have in the past.

To sum up. considering the ideas presented in the paragraphs above, I personally believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than they are nowadays chiefly due to developments in the society and changes in people's behavior and lifestyle.