Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a common way to popularize items to people. Nowadays, commercials aimed at children appear more and more often. In my opinion, I totally agree that advertisements toward young children should be banned because of mental impacts and physical influences.

First and foremost, advertisements about children negatively influence young children mental health. When children see advertisements, they will have a desire to own the items in the commercial. Children want to own them because commercials only show the highlights of the items and hide their flaws. Unfortunately, children cannot recognise these defects. In other words, they are not able to distinguish right from wrong, which makes children have ethical problems. Specifically, if any advertisements use unsuitable words for children, they may not relize that they should not copy these languages. Moreover, some children may feel shy when they watch advertisements. Since commercial always flattering their products, kids might see that people or items in the ads are better than themselves. For example, in milk commercials, the actor must be tall and strong to show to the audiences the effect of the products. This makes children feel inferior and have low self-esteem. Indeed, commercial can affect kids mental health because of their negative effect on children morality and shyness.

Secondly, children’s physical condition will be seriously affected by advertisements. Since commercials directed to children are funny and attractive, kids will have fun watching them. As a result, they will spend more time watching television and gradually harm their eyes. In addition, since advertisements convey products’ effectiveness but the producers do not pay attention to impacts on viewers, children can imitate misdeed in the commercials. For instance, in McDonald’s advertisements, the actors eat junk foods in a hurry in order to show that the foods are deliciuos. However, children might copy and suffer from stomach and intestinal diseases. Additionally, the products in the commercials are not always good for health. For example, when children see advertisements about fried chicken or other oily food, kids might want to try the foods because of its looks delicious. Consequently, children will get overweight since they eat too much junk food. By and large, commercials directed to kids harm their physical condition because of their effect on children’s eyes, imitation, as well as overweight.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that advertisements affect not only mental health but also physical condition. Children suffer from shame and morality affected. Also, commercials not only make children imitate misdoing but also harm their eyes and bodies.