television has destroyed communication among friends and family. agree or disagree?

Television is a source of entertainment in Today’s world. Some people believe that television has affected our lives immensely and helps in encouraging communication among friends and family. But I believe that Television is one of the major causes that has lead to decreased communication among friends and family. I feel this for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, people are spending more time in their houses rather than going out and enjoying their time with their friends. People are so much obsessed with watching television shows that they avoid going out of their houses. I can give a compelling example to explain this. My cousin loves a cartoon show, Ben 10 and he spends most of his free time watching this show. He loves this show so much that he even watches the repeat telecast of this show. After coming back from his school and finishing his homework, he is usually free for three hours. Instead of playing and communicating with his friends, he sits in front of the Television and watches this show. As a result, he has no friend in his neighborhood.

Moreover, people are wasting their time watching television instead of spending some time with their families. In this competitive world, people usually get a little free time out of their busy schedule and instead of utilizing that time to converse with family, people prefer to watch television. I can give my personal example to support this. My family has a tradition of having dinner together with every family member on the dining table. At the time of having dinner, everyone is usually tired and nobody talks much. Instead of utilising this time to converse with each other, I just switch on the television and then everyone is busy watching the television. Everyone is there on the dining table but nobody is talking to each other. Immediately after finishing dinner, I rush to my room so that I can continue watching my favourite television show privately.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that Television has lead to a decrease in communication among friends and family. I feel this because peolpe spend more time in their houses watching televsion rather than going out and because people prefer watching television over conversing with family.