TOEFL essay:What do you consider to be the most important room in a house? Why is this room more important to you than any other room? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The living room

"Home sweet home", everybody knows that sentence and it is true. When you come home from work or after a long travel it feels good to be at home again. But that feeling does not come from its home alone the rooms just make a home complete. Everybody has his special room where he feel most comfortable with and where he has his special place. For some people it is the kitchen for others it is the sleeping room and so on. In my opinion, the preferred room in a house and its heart is the living room because everything happens in that room: the social interactions, the sleeping and relaxing and having free time activities.

First of all, every social interaction happens in the living room. When you invite your friend or you family, for example, you stay with them in the living room. When your big couch is the heart piece of your living room you and your guest take their place. Or you might have a big dining table in your living room you can serve your guests their meals there or can have coffee and cake there. All in all the living room is a perfect room for your social life.

Furthermore, the living room is the best place where you can relax or sleep. Most people use their living room as a place where they withdraw. A living is the perfect where you can clear your mind and let your thoughts flow. You can do that while you lay on your couch in the living room or some people have some special decorations for that purpose lie exotic plants or a miniature fountain and so on. With this furniture and special decorations, it is the best place for a short nap or just for relaxation.

Last but not least, most of your free time could be done in the living room. Everybody has its TV in the living room and it is no secret that the people spend a lot of their time in front of the TV. Watching TV is the number one free time activity. But besides that there are other activities that could be done in the living room, for example, playing games. The best place where you can play table and board games with your friends is the living room or you could play video games there, too.

In conclusion, we spend the most of our time in our living room, when we are at home for several reasons. It is the best place where you can come together with your friends or your family. Another point is that the living room could have a lot of relaxing and sleeping opportunities which are important to clear our minds. Furthermore, most of our free time activities take place in our living rooms like watching TV or playing games.