Independent writing (question 2)Some people prefer to get up early in the morning and start the day’s work. Others prefer to get up later in the day and work until late at night. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your cho

The early bird vs the night owl

"The early bird always catches the worm" that is a very often used proverb. Experts debate about this circumstance these days when it comes to the new "Dalton plan" for schools, which was established a month ago at a school near Stuttgart. That plan integrates special flextime for the students a method where you can decide at which time you start your work. This special flextime has fully established at our working placements and it works very well. Here the people have the chance to decide whether to get up early to start the day's work or later. Starting the day by getting up early in the morning is preferable because it is better for the work, the health and the social life.

First of all, when you are an early riser you are more productive especially when it comes to work. We all know that feeling when you wake up early in the morning you are more motivated and work gets easier. Another huge factor is that early risers are better structured than others for that they are very good at planning their days and also their work.

Secondly, getting up early in the morning is better for the health. Researchers found out that it is better for the human biorhythm when you start the day early as when you stand up very late. People are more concentrated and more fit in the early hours while later risers are often tired the whole day. Besides, early risers have more energy than others. Another factor is that they have regular and structured eating hours what is better for the body and the human system. Although they have more time for doing sports and regular workouts we all know that is the best for our health.

Thirdly, starting your day early influences your social life in a positive way. People who start their days very early finish their regular working day earlier, too. That means they have more free time for family and friends who probably have the same working hours. They also have more free time for their hobbies. All in all, they are social and emotional balanced because they can use their time more effective.

In conclusion, when it comes to the question if you should start your day early or if you might get up later you better choose the first option. When you get up early you are better at work. It is also better for your health conditions and for your social competencies. So getting your alarm at an early hour because the early bird is better than the night owl.