TOPIC # 41 Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

People suffer from a lot of problems including famine, homelessness, and poverty. Although it is important to save land to maintain the natural lives and save some endangered animals, I believe that humans should focus more on issues that impact directly people's lives like housing, agriculture, and industry and that because of the following reasons.

To begin with, many countries have a lot of poor people who do not have adequate supply of food. Thinking in ways to improve farming and increase the general production of crops can solve the problem. This could be happened through planting large areas and making researches to invent ways to improve agriculture. Nowadays, we can grow the same kind of fruits and vegetables in winter and summer to produce enough crops to people. The surplus of produce can be sent to Africa or charity organizations to help poor people. Thus, trying to use more land to increase farming production to assist people is better that save land just to help animals.

Second, a lot of people struggle because they do not have a house or shelter to live in. In developed countries like the United States there are three millions are homeless. Similarly and may be worse, in developing countries there are many of displaced and indigent people who live in tents or do not have any kind of shelter. As a result exploiting lands to provide housing to those people and promote their conditions and lives is more important than saving land to rescue endangered animals.

Finally, harnessing lands for industry can make revolutionary changes in some countries. For example, China was a very poor country and its people suffer from poverty. Now because of their focusing on industry, the conditions of the country and people are dramatically changed to the best. Now Chinese have excellent industrial companies that provide many job opportunities to the people. And this helps them to have better lives and for some of them a luxurious lives. Therefore, utilizing lands for industrial businesses can enhance the economy of countries which in turn will reflect on people's lives. Accordingly, it is better to think about how to help humans to live in convenient and comfortable lives than to think of threatened animals.

To sum up, even though helping and saving animals is important, I think that thinking of people is more important. By using lands for planting, industry, and housing is better than keeping land to save animals. That to help people live in better conditions and to decrease their suffering.