Topic: Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Violent crimes occuring has a close parallel with the social development; therefore, ways to punish the involving criminals have become a controversial discussion. Some people support the death penalty for those who offended violent crimes; in contrast, others say that capital punishment is too extreme to be used in the modern world. Although the death penalty has both drawbacks and benefits, I think people should apply this punishment in society.

First of all, the death penalty woefully does not give criminals any opportunities to reform. In psychology, it has been proved that people’s personalities are always modified in order to adapt to the environment or a certain situation. Similarly, the offenders who commit heinous crimes might change their minds if they are given enough time to meditate their deviant behavior. For example, there is a case that the offender did not murder deliberately/ intentionally; consequently, he had been imprisoned for about ten years instead of receiving capital punishment.

However, death penalty also has some advantages which help to exert a better society. Firstly, I assume that a capital punishment is a kind of deterrent against major crimes. Criminals seem to think that they will be released anyway no matter how terribly did they do if there is no death penalty. On the other hand, offenders are mind constructed that their lives will be risky if they do not abide by the laws. For instance,a , so he is deterred by the teacher in different ways with the ultimate goal is to construct the boy’s mind of anxiety. Wonderfully, the boy did change his heart after he had heard a load of threats from his teacher.

Another good point of capital punishment is to bring back society’s relief. People obviously do not believe in the offenders’ conscience; they often show their nervousness toward any information about the release of some infamous criminals. Illustratively, there are several articles which mention people’s reaction about an offender who commits sexual abuse, but he has been sentenced for only twelve years. Obviously, thousands of negative comments of the controversy will not create a better world. To sum up, I totally advocate the death penalty in contemporary society.

In short, it is up to each person to think that whether capital punishment should be supported or not; however, there are always dark and bright sides of a matter.