Topic (TPO 21)-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more in more important than studying hard.

Some people are amenable to the idea that if you want to be a successful person in your job, you need to learn the ability to have good connections with other people. On the other hand, there are people who hold the view that you must be a good student in your school and study hard to be a successful person in your future job. This subject has always brought about heated debates. In my opinion, to have a successful career it is necessary to have the ability to build a good connection with other people. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explained in what follows.

The first point to bear in mind is that creating networks with other people and expanding it, especially with your colleagues, can lead to more and better job opportunities. For instance, they can introduce you to better and bigger companies in comparison with the current company that you work for. Thus, you may have better job opportunities and improve your resume for the future. Also, you may find someone to start your own business with him/her. The best example that comes to my mind is my uncle. While he was working in a manufacturing company 25 years ago, he got to know one of his colleagues and they became great friends and this friendship led to partnership and they start running their own company and be their own bosses instead of working for others.

Another noteworthy reason in my opinion is that while good relationships with other people exist, you have the opportunity to learn more about success in the workplace. Being a successful person is not just limited to how great you are in your major. There are plenty of things you need to know about while you are working. For example, you need to learn how to interact and behave towards your colleagues who have different types of characteristics, especially in a multi-national company. Employees of these companies are usually from different parts of the world and they have grown up by different values, cultures, and traditions. In this regard, you will not be aware of these values until you have some connections with them. When you get to know them, you will understand their values and respect them. So they will not think you disrespect them and they become closer to you than the past which is a great thing.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that to become a successful in our job career, you need the ability of making and expanding network with other people , which is much more important than being a good student during school. Nowadays, communicational abilities are counted as one of the abilities with utmost importance in work environments, and people need to know how to deal with people in order to have a great relationship with them because one day, these connections will work for you.