Topic (TPO 26)-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

Career choice has always been a crucial and vital concern for younger generation because if they choose their career correctly, they will be able to build a bright future for themselves. Some people are amenable to the idea that children should continue their parents' jobs or at least, choose jobs which are similar to their parents'. On the contrary, others hold the view that the younger generation should choose a job which they are talented for and interested in, even if it is not similar to their parents' career. This subject has always brought about heated debates. In my view, the two reasons - children's talents and interests plus choosing a job based on the current need of market and society - can be used to support the idea that children do not necessarily need to choose jobs which are similar to their parents' jobs.

The first reason which is the most important from my point of view is that successful people are the ones who choose their job based on their talents, skills, and interests. If someone starts a career from nothing, he/she can be successful in that field if they are interested and skillful in it and never give up working. On the other hand, if children choose a job similar to their parents' while they do not have interest in doing it, this would lead to a very dangerous situation in which the children would become hopeless and do not have enough motivation to work hard and reach the goals they set in their mind.

Another reason which should be taken into consideration is that having a job background does not necessarily lead to success. In the other words, working background cannot be counted as an indicator to determine whether a person will be successful or not. I believe one of the main measures which should be considered for measuring success is whether the job is in demand in the society or not. If so, that job benefits from high potential of rapid expansion and development. The reason for this is that when the demand for that specific job is high, it guarantees the development/progress and expansion/growth of that field in the future, which leads to economic benefits. Conversely, if you choose a job based on your parents' career without considering the current needs of the society, it does not necessarily guarantee a successful job career because I may not the one your society is really much in need of

To wrap up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it would be better and logical that children choose their future job based on their talents and interests. In addition, they should take the demand of the society into consideration because this can guarantee the success of the job, at least, in the short-term future.