TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Some people claim that sports and social activities do not deserve the same financial support as the classes. However, as an educational institution, the school has the obligation to educate their students both academically and socially.

First of all, playing sports can increase the students’ team spirits and ability to cooperate. In a university, undergraduates need to learn not only the knowledge in the book, but also the skills in communication and collaboration, both of which will prove important in the future. A student who is good at playing basketball is usually good at competing and cooperating in the group and sometimes can be a better leader than those who only focused on the classes. The financial support from the school can bring a better situation for the students to exercise and make friends and create an open and pluralistic society.

In addition, playing sports can not only cultivate the ability of the students to cooperate but also reduce the stress in study and improve the efficiency of study. As a student with so much homework, I know exactly the sole class will bring tiredness in study. However, if we get some time to relax in playing football or badminton, we will have more energy to finish the following homework. As we know, exercising will not decrease our passion to complete the task, but compulsory in homework indeed make us lose interest in continuing learning. Frustrated and tired students can adjust their mood and rebuild their confidence in exercising so that they can overcome difficulty in a fresh new motivation.

Of course, classes are still the heart of our daily work. What we need to think about is how to raise the students’ interest in study and make every minute in the school valuable. Our country still need people who are good at basic science to develop our society. The importance of academy will not vanish forever. However, we still need other talents like in sports to earn honor for our country as well. For instance, some universities spend a great deal of money on sports, but they do not reduce the financial support in academy either. A clever college will exterminate the conflict between sports and academy.

In conclusion, we need to develop our sports equipment to better serve the students because sports can not only cultivate the ability to cooperate but also reduce the pressure in study and make their study more efficient. In fact, we are suppose to keep a balance between classes and sports.