TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

When it comes to the question of whether universities should invest in social activities, people tend to develop various viewpoints. Some people seem to disagree with this notion because they think that social activities are not as important as academic ones, whereas others are more inclined to the idea that both of these activities should receive the same amount of supporting money. Personally, I found myself in the same place as the latter ones for the following reasons.

To begin with, social activities help students in self perfection. Like academic knowledge, social skills also help people in developing their careers but in a different way. For example, my friend Tra used to the leader of a volunteer club at her university, which offered her a chance to practice her leadership skill. Therefore, although she is not an exceptionally excellent coder, Tra is still her employer’s favorite staff member. This is because she can display herself as a brilliant leader in the company. What can be seen from this example is that social skills may not give my friend an opportunity to work well as a coder but makes her an excellent manager. In conclusion, social skills are as important as academic knowledge, so universities should give these activities the same amount of supporting money.

Furthermore, there is also another reason in terms of personal enjoyment. At university, academic classes are often boring for students, and they find it easy to be stressed if they have to study too much. As a result, the universities will need to organize some social clubs for students to relax. For example, Vietnamese universities were very strict on academic classes. Before 1900s, there were no social activities; students came to school just for studying. Back then, a lot of students were stressed and they commited suicide. To solve this issue, Vietnamese’s education decided to carry out a reform and put a stronger focus on social activities , Thanks to this great transformation, the number of students who commited suicide decreased by 90%; they seemed to be more comfortable with classes. In fact, it is undeniable that these activities really help them relieve their stress after a hard working day. In conclusion, to make students feel comfortable with their study schedule, the fund for activities should not be small.

Ultimately, I believe that to bring out more benefits for student, universities should invest in social activities. This will help them perfect themself by sharpen their social skills and allow them to study more efficiently. In fact, parents should also encourage their children joining clubs and after-class-activities to be more confident in society.