TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Most of the people have varied thoughts on whether the universities and colleges should invest more in the classes and libraries or sports and social activities. Some of them speak in the favor of universities rigorously focusing more on the classes and academic excellence while some other believe that both classes and extracurricular activities should go hand in hand for the overall development of students. In my opinion, educational institutions shouldn't limit the students to classes and libraries and instead, should promote and encourage students to actively participate in sports and social activities as well. I will explain this with reasons and examples in this essay.

First of all, sports shouldn't be viewed as something that might hinder the academic progress of the students. In fact, it is a great activity that will not only keep the students physically and mentally fit but also make them disciplined, determined and challenging. Being involved in any sports club enhance the students to explore their interest outside the classroom and library. For example, I had a friend from my high school who was an average student but was an excellent football player. The establishment of the football club in school enabled him to follow his interest passionately outside the classroom which later helped him reach the state level championship. Also, he was found to be more disciplined and focused in the classroom than before due to his involvement in the football club.

Secondly, colleges should equally provide financial support to promote social activities. Various social clubs can be set up in the university itself such that students with varied interest can join the respective clubs. Being a part of social clubs not only excels your social behavior but also the interpersonal skills like leadership, public speaking, teamwork etc are developed with time. I can corroborate this with my own personal experience during my time as President of Book club of our school. Working as a president, I was able to command and lead various charity programmes that we conducted in order to collect fund for the establishment of the library in our community. Not only did it improved my leadership quality but I could also speak fluently and confidently in mass which impressed the contributors and sponsors of our library.

To conclude, I strongly believe every universities and college should equally invest in both classes and extracurricular activities like sports and social activities from which every student can be benefitted.