TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For a healthy and long-lasting relationship between two people, there must be trust, loyalty, love, and respect for each other. To expect a steady and happy relationship singling out any of them is unimaginable. However, we can't also deny the fact that telling the truth is an important consideration if, not the most important factor. I believe being truthful is a must in any relationship in order to maintain the trust, loyal and respect for the significant other. I will talk more about this in this essay.

Firstly, to maintain a good relationship with someone demands that you are true to yourself and to the person as well and no truth is hidden that might haunt the state of good relationship later in life. One cannot fully trust someone who is always hiding behind the lies. Moreover, telling the truth is very important especially when you want to earn someone's trust. People often take the help of lie in order to gain the trust which is not good when you thrive to maintain a healthy relationship in the long run. For example, I had a friend who lied to me that he would help during the preparation for the final exam just to sell me false hopes and gain my trust which didn't last for long when later he didn't even provide his notes to study. This left a bad impression of him and hence I lost my faith and trust eventually worsening the relationship between us.

Secondly, if you aren't loyal to your partner then the happiness erodes with time. Telling the truth is actually a symbol of being loyal no matter what the situation is. When your partner is cheating and hiding the truth, then you can't expect him/her to be loyal throughout the relationship. This will only hurt you immensely when you find the truth from others or from your partner but, later. To add, I can confirm this from my own personal experience. For instance, my girlfriend wasn't fully true when she said she was only dating me when she was also seeing someone else. When I found out later, this broke my heart and made realize she was telling lies the whole time. As a result, we broke up and our relationship ended on bad terms.

In addition, you can't certainly respect someone who hasn't been telling the truth. And, respect is a very important factor in any relationship. I don't see the point of being in a relationship with a person whom you don't respect. Not telling the truth and disrespecting your partner is harmful to the relationship. If your partner is telling the truth even though he/she has made a mistake that will make you angry for a while but later you forgive them and come to know that he/she evidently respects you and wants to assert a healthy relationship.

To conclude, although telling truth is not the only important factor for a healthy relationship between two people but it certainly is the deciding factor that contributes to other factors like trust, loyalty, and respect as well. Thus, instead of hiding the truth for momentary happiness in the relationship, one should always tell the truth in order to have a healthy and happy relationship in the long run.