TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

Nobody will deny the importance of sports and social activities. In fact, we should encourage universities and colleges to make their students do several activities beside studying. However, I believe it is too far to say that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support at schools.

The main reason I claim so is because the main purpose of universities and colleges is to make students learn and research. When people graduate from school we expect them to increase their knowledge, make scientific improvement and become a professional in their own field. Even though outside activities are important, schools should not withdraw money improving laboratories and buying more books at the library for bigger soccer fields. Universities and colleges should put their priority on education more than anything else.

Another reason is because it might be just a waste of money. There are other ways people can enjoy sports and social activities such as sport centers like YMCA or social clubs for music and art. Thus even if schools enhance their sports facility students might not even care about it. For example, my university had a gym that could fit about 20 people inside. A few people used the gym so the school concluded the reason for that was because the gym was too small. They renovated the gym to fit about 50 people, however, the amount of people using the gym did not increase as much. They found out that most of the students were using the gym off-campus and realized that they made a mistake. It would of been much better if they just invested that money on more scientific research.

All in all, because the main reason that universities exist is not for out-door activities and investing on them could be just a waste of money I believe that schools should focus more on spending money for classes and libraries.