TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There is no shortage of debate about whether sports and social activities should equal importance and financial support as classes and libraries. In my opinion, they should be as important as classes and libraries and get equal financial support. I feel this way for two reasons, which I have explored below.

Firstly, I feel that sports and social activities are very crucial for the development of social skills in students. Sports not only help students stay fit but also help them cope with academic and other external pressures. For example, In my personal experience when I was in school I used to play in kabaddi team for the school, which is where I learned how beneficial it is to work in a team and importance of staying united. It helped further in life to become a good team player and integrate into any teams with ease whereas students who hadn't worked with teams in social activities or sports often had trouble working in a team. I also used to participate in debate competitions in my school which made me confident and improve my communication skills, which had a little scope of improvement in classes.

Secondly, not every student is made the same and cannot be expected to be interested in academics. Sports and Social activities help such students who are interested in other spheres to build skills which can enable them to be successful in their careers. For example, a cousin of mine was interested in theatrics but his school did not do much in that sphere. So he had to rely on external options and often had trouble finding opportunities to showcase his talent whereas my classmates could easily pursue their interests in theatrics as my school had a dedicated theatrics club and often supported financially by organizing workshops and contests.

I therefore strongly feel that sports and social activities should get as much importance and financial assistance as academics. This can not only help in the overall growth of students but also help students with varied interests build their career in the respective spheres.