TPO 02 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Living with prosperity in the society is the result of the ability of initiating new relationships with other people while maintaining the old ones. I strongly believe it's essential to retain closeness with old fellow. I feel this way for two reasons wich I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, you can be yourself in front of your old friends. When we meet someone new, we have to act formal to make a good impression and make him/her to like us. On the other hand, when we hang out with people that we know for a long time, we are more comfortable; because we know that they won't judge us. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I had started university in a city far from my hometown, I shared a dorm with 2 of my highschool friends. We were kinda different from the native people living there; specially our accent was somehow irregular for the others. When I was attending to the classes, I put a lot of effort trying to behave and talk like other students to seem similar and be able to blend with them and find new friends. Contrarily, when I was in the dorm, I could talk freely

having my original accent while I was near my old pals.

Secondly, old friends are like family and care about you. To put it in a more vivid picture, you can speak about your difficulties with your old friends knowing that they are aware of your history and can give you proper suggestions to solve the problems. For instance, I have a friend named Farid, we have been friends for more than 15 years and he is like a brother to me. We also lived in a dorm for 3 years together. In the first semester of the University, I became homesick, depressed, and stayed all day in the dorm not talking to anybody. Farid noticed that my behavior is not like what it used to be, so he found out about my depression. He patiently helped me to overcome my problems and become healthy again.

In conclusion, I'm of the opinion that keeping old friends is much more important that seeking for new ones. This is because you don't need to pretend when you are with them, and they deeply love you and care about you.