TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We humans are social animals, we live in societies—a web of relationships. Relationships are very diverse. parent-child , teacher-student,boss-employee, friendship and even animosity is a relation. Truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Veracity builds trust, which is paramount in any relation. When we are truthful in our relation, the other person can count on us to always say what is on our mind. Over the time, the other person believes in our story without doubting us. Take for exaple this incident. A son was always truthful to his parents. Even in his childhood he did not resort to misrepresentaions for his foibles and always gave a true account of any incident to his parents. This made the parent-shild relationship strong. Even when the boy grew up, he never felt the need to lie. Unfortunately, he was once caught among a gang of narcotic drug dealers. He was arrested. His parents questioned him about the incident, to which he honestly admitted his innocence to this nightmare. As he was always truthful, his parents took him for his word and rescued him. For some parents, in todays world, it could be hard to belive the innocence of their teenage children who habitually lie. But the truth telling in this case has build trust among parents and their child.

Being honest promotes transparency in a relationship. If you are honest about your mistakes and admit when you have done something wrong, the other person can accept you for who you are. The other person can get to know you better if they know about your foibles or venial mistakes. If you keep hiding them, they might not like you for who you actually are but who you pretend to be. This is necessary for a long lasting relationship. Take for instance a boyfriend who is not honest about his habits and tries to hide his smoking or drinking habits. This realtion might not last for a long time as eventually the girl will find out about this. Where as if the man was truthful about his habits, he might find a partner who is tolerant of such habits. It would save the pain on both sides.

Thus in any relationship, truth is very important. Lasting relations are build on truth. On can not keep up the facade for a long time with his close ones. Truth will eventually catch up and it will hurt both the parties involved.