TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

In classrooms today, many projects are assigned to teams of students instead of just one student to encourage team work. Some are also of the opinion that this scheme inculcates valuable skills like communicating, defending your position and trusting other people. However effective learning mostly happens when one individual works alone on a task.

Firstly, in a team there is seldom and equal contribution by team members. Bright students are mostly taking the initiative and the responsibility to finish the task. Few others, who are not keen on doing the project slide away from making any contribution. As a result, most of the ideas included in the assignment are the ones that assiduous students came up with. Inspite of this disparity in amount of work done, everybody is graded equally. The teacher generally evalutes the project, not measure how much each student endeavored. Notwithstanding equal rating, the hardworking students are the ones who learn from the project. The classmates who evaded any responsibility do not learn and the purpose of assigning the projects is wasted.

Secondly, in a group the work is distributed, thus team mates individually do not see the whole picture. Whereas, if one were to work alone on the entire task, he would be familiar with each of the minute details and whole picture as well — how the whole project comes together with each module. This understanding is very importent to learning. For example, in a project a group of sophomore engineers were assigned the task of building a robot that detects the walls in a maze and finds an escape route. Some of the electrical engineers worked on the motor functionalities of the robot where as the computer engineers worked on the algorithm to detect a path that leads out of the maze. They worked together on sensors and its feed. However electrical engineers knew nothing about the algorithm used and computer students knew nothing about the motor functions. Thus none of them had the complete view of the system. Though, the robot was functional, they could not address certain glitches that required a knowledge of both the components.

Thus learning by oneself, although time consuming, is an effective way of learing by projects. On facing difficulty one can ofcourse consult his friends, but he should learn how the problem was resolved. On assigning projects to individuals, teacher would eliminate the possibility of some students escaping the workload, and everybody will be thorough with the concepts.