Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in mon

That the species are endangered and need to be saved is apparent. However, the debate is no the amount of sacrifice we are willing to make. To spend extraordinary effort to save “every” endangered plant and animal species seems far fetched. Human kind would not take extraordinary steps without benefiting, as we are innately selfish and saving species from extinction does not seem to offer much benefit nor does it seem like a life threatening scenario. Thus, we can be expected to save the dying animals and plants but not at a huge expense.

Practical approach should be taken in saving species that have more chances of survival, than striving to save all the endangered species. Honey bees, for example, are endangered and should be saved instead of lions and dolphins. This is because lions and dolphins are already less in number and their chances of surviving are lesser compared to that of the bees. Moreover, these bees are paramount in pollinating plants and thus have a greater impact on ecology. The extinction of bees is more likely to adversely affect human kind that of lions. Also, there are endangered plants which have great medicinal value. Efforts should be made to save them first. Hence, as many species of plants and animals are nearing extinction, we should prioritize saving species that have higher probability of survival and have a greater impact on ecology.

Measures that positively and directly, affect us, but indirectly help the cause of saving species from extinction should be adopted. By working on air and water pollution, that are of great concerns to humans, we can also impede the rate of extinction of species like salamander, which thrive in fresh water. Restoring forests, will provide us with fresher air —much needed in China—and a habitat for lions and elephants, which have been affected severely by shrinking forest areas. Decreasing the use of plastics and replacing it with biodegradable alternatives will save us on the efforts to dispose plastic, and whales will not die due to consumption of plastics. Such measures that bear tangible results will encourage greater efforts. These efforts will indirectly help in saving species that are dying due to adverse impact of human activities.

Thus, species need to be saved, of which there is no doubt, but we need to be wise in our approach. With the limited funds available to wildlife conservations, efforts to save the most promising species should be made first. Reducing our harmful impact on the environment would be beneficial to us as well as the rest of the lives on our planet.