TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since my childhood, I have always been taught not to lie and always be truthful to everyone. Because being truthful helps to keep your relationships strong and it also makes a person appear trustworthy. However, if a person has the habit of lying, then he is not accepted in the society as well as he faces difficulty in keeping up with that lie and further lies to support his previous lies.

For example, when I was in grade 9, my best friend was having a birthday and she decided to celebrate it on a farmhouse. My mother was always protective of me and i assumed that she will not let me go to the party as soon as she comes to know that it is at the farmhouse. So, I decided to lie to her that we are going to study at her place on her birthday. Unfortunately, my mother works with her mother and she came to know about the party at the farmhouse. When i came back home after school, she was extremely disappointed in me for not telling her the truth and became even more protective and took my phone. Because of the lie, me and my mother had trusting issues whenever I wanted to go out with friends or even to study. She doubted me every time. After a while things were back to normal but i learnt an important lesson that i should have told her the truth as she was only protecting me from the ill gathering and I was only able to understand this when I passed the teenage life.

Also, being truthful not only helps building strong family relationships but also, it helps in building strong work relationships between colleagues and managers. If you are truthful to your managers and colleagues then they will trust you and you get higher chances for being promoted. Also, truthful nature helps to build good reputation among the co-workers. For example, when I was working at the call center, we employees had to volunteer one of our off days for the availability to work. This was the practice to cover up for any other employee who could not show up for any reason. So, some of my co-workers used to lie as they did not wanted to work extra. However, I never lied about my availability and because of this they promoted me to be an Assistant Manager.

In some situations lying is better in order to avoid hurting someone. For example, my best friend was wearing a green dress and she wanted my opinion that how was she looking, I did not like it however, i kept that opinion to myself because i did not wanted to hurt her or make her feel uncomfortable in that dress.

I would like to conclude by saying that it is not easy to be truthful all the time however, if you try then it would not be so difficult in keeping up with it.